Friday, July 31, 2009

Cory's Honors, Awards and Achievements

After leaving the presidency, Aquino received several awards and citations. In 1994, Aquino was cited as one of 100 Women Who Shaped World History in a reference book written by Gail Meyer Rolka and published by Bluewood Books in San Francisco, California. In 1996, she received the J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding from the Fulbright Association, joining past recipients such as Jimmy Carter and Nelson Mandela. In August 1999, Aquino was chosen by Time Magazine as one of the 20 Most Influential Asians of the 20th century. The same magazine cited her in November 2006 as one of 65 great Asian Heroes, along with Mahatma Gandhi, Deng Xiaoping, Aung San Suu Kyi, Lee Kuan Yew, and King Bhumibol Adulyadej. In January 2008, the Europe-based A Different View selected Aquino as one of the 15 Champions of World Democracy, alongside Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Jr., Lech Wałęsa, and Vaclav Havel.

In 2002, Aquino became the first woman named to the Board of Governors of the Board of the Asian Institute of Management, a leading graduate business school and think tank in the Asia Pacific region. She served on the Board until 2006.

1986 Time Magazine Woman of the Year

1986 Eleanor Roosevelt Human Rights Award

1986 United Nations Silver Medal

1986 Canadian International Prize for Freedom

1986 Nobel Peace Prize nominee

1986 International Democracy Award from the International Association of Political Consultants

1987 Prize For Freedom Award from Liberal International
1993 Special Peace Award from the Aurora Aragon Quezon Peace Awards Foundation and Concerned Women of the Philippines

1994 One of 100 Women Who Shaped World History (by G.M. Rolka, Bluewood Books, San Francisco, CA)

1995 Path to Peace Award

1996 J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding from the U.S. Department of State

1998 Ramon Magsaysay Award for International Understanding

1998 Pearl S. Buck Award

1999 One of Time Magazine's 20 Most Influential Asians of the 20th Century

2001 World Citizenship Award

2005 David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Awards

2005 One of the World's Elite Women Who Make a Difference by the International Women's
Forum Hall of Fame

2006 One of Time Magazine's 65 Asian Heroes

2008 One of A Different View's 15 Champions of World Democracy

EWC Asia Pacific Community Building Award

Women's International Center International Leadership Living Legacy Award

Martin Luther King Jr. Nonviolent Peace Prize

United Nations Development Fund for Women Noel Award for Political Leadership

Honorary doctorates:
Doctor of International Relations, honoris causa, from:
Boston University in Boston
Eastern University in St. David, PA
Fordham University in New York
Waseda University in Tokyo
Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, from:
University of the Philippines
University of Santo Tomas in Manila
Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, from:
Ateneo de Manila University
College of Mount Saint Vincent in New York
Xavier University (Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines)
Doctor of Humanities, honoris causa, from:
San Beda College in Manila, 2000
Seattle University, 2002
Stonehill College in Massachusetts
University of Oregon, 1995

In popular culture :

Aquino was portrayed by Laurice Guillen in the 1988 HBO miniseries A Dangerous Life.
Aquino was a main character in Boy Noriega's 1987 stage comedy Bongbong at Kris, about an imagined romantic coupling between the youngest son of Ferdinand Marcos and the youngest daughter of the Aquinos.

She was portrayed by Tess Villarama in the movie Ilaban Mo, Bayan Ko: The Obet Pagdanganan Story in 1997.

In 2004, Aquino was portrayed by Irma Adlawan in the miniseries Sa'yo Lamang.

In 2008, a musical play about Aquino starring Isay Alvarez as Aquino, was staged at the Meralco Theater. Entitled Cory, the Musical, it was written and directed by Nestor Torre and featured a libretto of 19 original songs composed by Lourdes Pimentel, wife of Senator Aquilino Pimentel.


Unknown said...


Post a Comment


Corazon Aquino © 2008. Template Design By: SkinCorner